Natalia Tokar in Recital @ HKUST

Natalia head shot

19:30, Thu 27 Nov, 2014

Tin Ka Ping Hall

Native of Russia, Natalia Tokar made her debut with Kaliningrad Philharmonic at the age of 17 performing Concerto in E minor by Chopin. She graduated from Saint-Petersburg Rimsky-Korsakov State Conservatory with degrees in Piano Performance and Collaborative Piano. During her years in Russia she performed as a soloist with Kaliningrad Philharmonic, Saint-Petersburg Conservatory Orchestra and Saint-Petersburg House of Scientists Symphony. Natalia was recognized as a collaborative pianist, as well, and received awards as an accompanist from several vocal competitions in the city of Saint-Petersburg. Natalia completed her Doctoral Degree in Piano Performance at Michigan State University, where she studied with Prof. Deborah Moriarty. For the past five years in United States, Natalia Tokar has appeared as collaborative pianist at numerous vocal and instrumental competitions in Michigan, Iowa, and Minnesota. As collaborative pianist she has performed in several recitals, including MSU recital at the Weil Recital Hall, Carnegie Hall in Spring 2012.

To register to attend please: CLICK HERE

From the Baroque to the 20th Century 


“Pieces de Clavecin” (“Pieces for harpsichord”)                                                       Jean-Philippe Rameau
Le Rappel des Oiseaux
Les Cyclopes
Les Soupirs
La Joyeuse

Piano Sonata in F Major, K.332                                                                                 Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Allegro assai

Hungarian Rhapsody No. 13                                                                                      Franz Liszt

Pilgrims’ chorus, the concert-transcription from “Tannhauser” by R.Wagner             Franz Liszt

Etude-Tableau in E flat minor, op.39 no.5                                                                  Sergei Rachmaninoff

Sonata for piano                                                                                                         Samuel Barber
Allegro energico 
Allegro vivace e leggero
Adagio mesto
Fuga. Allegro con spirit

Preludes for piano                                                                                                       George Gershwin
Allegro ben ritmato e deciso
Andante con moto e poco rubato
Allegro ben ritmato e deciso